Deeply Human Stories: Fiction

Bookmark: Login to manage your bookmarks.

Wed. March 22, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Barnes & Noble

1035 Emmet Street North, Barracks Road Shopping Center, Charlottesville, VA 22903

Facebooktwitterpinterestmail

Hannah Gersen (Home Field), Jennifer Handford (The Light of Hidden Flowers), and Patricia Harman (The Runaway Midwife) share their heartfelt novels.

Why Should You Attend?

“Gersen’s characters are so full, so gently flawed, and so deeply human that it’s nearly impossible to resist falling into their world, with all its sorrow and all its subtle joy. A moving all-American family saga; fiction’s answer to Friday Night Lights.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Handford’s third novel (after Acts of Contrition and Daughters for a Time) centers on identity and how the people in our lives shape our choices…Fans of Carrie Brown and Helen Simonson will enjoy this quietly moving tale.” —Library Journal

“[Harman] draws on her experience as a midwife to add true-to-life detail to Clara’s adventure, grounding the high-stakes story. Full of hope and heart, this will appeal to anyone tempted by the thought of complete reinvention.”—Booklist