Life (and Love) Is Complicated: Fiction

Bookmark: Login to manage your bookmarks.

Fri. March 24, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Barnes & Noble

1035 Emmet Street North, Barracks Road Shopping Center, Charlottesville, VA 22903

Facebooktwitterpinterestmail

Michelle Brafman (Bertrand Court), Ann Garvin (I Like You Just Fine When You’re Not Around), and Lauren Grodstein (Our Short History) share their stories of complicated and loving lives.

Why should you attend?

“Brafman’s gorgeous linked narratives focus on a group of astonishing characters, all grappling with power, lust, love, sex, and how best to be alive in a complicated world, all set against the backdrop of a Washington, D.C. suburb. Gloriously alive, moving, and blazingly honest—Bertrand Court is brilliant.” —Caroline Leavitt, New York Times–bestselling author of Cruel Beautiful World and Pictures of You

“Garvin has crafted a poignant and clever anthem for the sandwich generation, and Tig is a flawed, funny, and highly relatable narrator. Her emotional growth is genuine without being forced…. Fans of Carol Cassella, Allison Pearson, and Elisabeth Egan will enjoy this warmhearted and introspective look at what it means to be selfless–and selfish.” —Booklist

“In Our Short History, Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it’s bigger–and stronger–than before. This novel will leave you appreciating both the messiness of life and the immense depths of love.” —Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You

Rate this Program