Published September 24, 2020

SHELF LIFE continues in the month of October with even more virtual author events, every Thursday at noon (EDT), livestreamed on Zoom and Facebook…

If you’re new to SHELF LIFE or to Zoom, more generally, CLICK HERE to learn more about how to take part. Then, mark your calendar for these upcoming events!

Thursday, October 1 at 12:00 PM EDT

#OwnVoices Fiction: Yamile Saied Méndez in conversation with NoNieqa Ramos

Join Yamile Saied Méndez as she discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, in conversation with NoNieqa Ramos. Set in Argentina, the novel tells the story of a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl’s journey to make her life her own.

“With a mix of Spanish words, vivid dialogue, and rich description, Mendez paints a realistic image of a young woman battling to become herself against the odds . . . A powerful and realistic novel.”—School Library Journal

Furia is one of BuzzFeed’s Must-Read YA Books of 2020 and the latest YA pick for Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club!

Thursday, October 8 at 12:00 PM EDT

Family Secrets in Fiction: Jill McCorkle in conversation with Brendan Mathews

Join beloved novelist Jill McCorkle for a discussion of her latest book, Hieroglyphics, in conversation with author Brendan Mathews. This deeply layered and masterful novel explores what it means to try to make sense of the hieroglyphics of history, memory, and secrets carried across generations.

“A powerful evocation of loss and yearning . . . McCorkle testifies to the ageless nobility of human beings who want the next generation to do better. A deeply moving and insightful triumph.”—Booklist, starred review for Hieroglyphics

“Engrossing . . . McCorkle finds an elegant mix of wistfulness and appreciation for life . . . Throughout, McCorkle weaves a powerful narrative web, with empathy for her characters and keen insight on their motivations. This is a gem.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thursday, October 15 at 12:00 PM EDT

Monument Lab and Creative Speculations Where You Live: Paul Farber in conversation with Justin Reid

Paul Farber (Monument Lab: Creative Speculations for Philadelphia) discusses his work as a co-founder of The Monument Lab, which works with community members to reimagine public spaces through stories of social justice and equity; with Justin Reid, director of Community Initiatives at Virginia Humanities.

“Monument Lab has taken the current controversies of public art and the future place of monuments and creatively engaged the public in serious and often playful ways. Using the city of Philadelphia with its prominent history and diversity as its inspiring springboard, each project described soars with meaning and conviction. Monument Lab leads the nation in working to achieve cities where public art is embraced by all their occupants and this book reflects their many unique stories.” —Elizabeth Goldstein, President, The Municipal Art Society of New York

Thursday, October 22 at 12:00 PM EDT

Detecting Women with Hilary Davidson and Rachel Howzell Hall

Join crime novelists Hilary Davidson (Don’t Look Down) and Rachel Howzell Hall (And Now She’s Gone) as they discuss their newest books, their experiences as crime writers, writing strong women characters, and much more.

“Don’t Look Down by Hilary Davidson is a fast-paced, twisty, classic city crime thriller that leaves one fully satisfied…” —Criminal Element

“Smart, razor-sharp from Thriller Award finalist Hall…. Full of wry, dark humor, this nuanced tale of two extraordinary women is un-put-downable.” ―Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Partners & Sponsors  |  View All

 Health  Health  Health  Health  Health  Health  Health  Health  Health  Health
CLOSE