Event

SHELF LIFE: Monument Lab and Creative Speculations Where You Live: Paul Farber in conversation with Justin Reid

Paul Farber (Monument Lab: Creative Speculations for Philadelphia) discusses his work as a co-founder of The Monument Lab, which works with community members to reimagine public spaces through stories of social justice and equity…

October 15, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Detecting Women with Hilary Davidson and Rachel Howzell Hall

Join crime novelists Hilary Davidson (Don’t Look Down) and Rachel Howzell Hall (And Now She’s Gone) as they discuss their newest books, their experiences as crime writers, writing strong women …

October 22, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: #OwnVoices Fiction: Yamile Saied Méndez in conversation with NoNieqa Ramos

Yamile Saied Méndez discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter…

October 1, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Family Secrets in Fiction: Jill McCorkle in conversation with Brendan Mathews

Beloved novelist Jill McCorkle discusses her latest book, Hieroglyphics, with author Brendan Mathews…

October 8, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Does Good Exist? Maggie Paxson on The Plateau

Maggie Paxson discusses her memoir, The Plateau, which blends anthropology, history, and personal introspection to delve deeply into philosophical and moral issues; with Bella Stander.

September 10, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: The Kinship of Plants and People—Enrique Salmón on Iwígara

Join ethnobotanist Enrique Salmón as he discusses his new book, Iwígara: The Kinship of Plants and People, with Lilia Fuquen.

September 24, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Conversational Creatures with Anita Felicelli and Joni Murphy

Anita Felicelli (Chimerica) & Joni Murphy (Talking Animals) discuss their latest novels & the roles of talking animals in literary fiction

September 17, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: The New American with Micheline Aharonian Marcom

Micheline Aharonian Marcom discusses her latest novel, The New American, with Catalina Esguerra

September 3, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM