Event

SHELF LIFE: Monument Lab and Creative Speculations Where You Live: Paul Farber in conversation with Justin Reid

Paul Farber (Monument Lab: Creative Speculations for Philadelphia) discusses his work as a co-founder of The Monument Lab, which works with community members to reimagine public spaces through stories of social justice and equity…

October 15, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Detecting Women with Hilary Davidson and Rachel Howzell Hall

Join crime novelists Hilary Davidson (Don’t Look Down) and Rachel Howzell Hall (And Now She’s Gone) as they discuss their newest books, their experiences as crime writers, writing strong women …

October 22, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: #OwnVoices Fiction: Yamile Saied Méndez in conversation with NoNieqa Ramos

Yamile Saied Méndez discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter…

October 1, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Family Secrets in Fiction: Jill McCorkle in conversation with Brendan Mathews

Beloved novelist Jill McCorkle discusses her latest book, Hieroglyphics, with author Brendan Mathews…

October 8, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Does Good Exist? Maggie Paxson on The Plateau

Maggie Paxson discusses her memoir, The Plateau, which blends anthropology, history, and personal introspection to delve deeply into philosophical and moral issues; with Bella Stander.

September 10, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: The Kinship of Plants and People—Enrique Salmón on Iwígara

Join ethnobotanist Enrique Salmón as he discusses his new book, Iwígara: The Kinship of Plants and People, with Lilia Fuquen.

September 24, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Conversational Creatures with Anita Felicelli and Joni Murphy

Anita Felicelli (Chimerica) & Joni Murphy (Talking Animals) discuss their latest novels & the roles of talking animals in literary fiction

September 17, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: The New American with Micheline Aharonian Marcom

Micheline Aharonian Marcom discusses her latest novel, The New American, with Catalina Esguerra

September 3, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Race for Profit with Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor

Join professor Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor as she discusses her highly-acclaimed Race for Profit: How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership, in conversation with Andrew Kahrl.

August 13, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: We’re Going to Be O.K. with Dr. Leigh-Ann Webb & Ashleigh Webb

Join co-author Dr. Leigh-Ann Webb and illustrator Ashleigh Webb as they discuss We’re Going to Be O.K., their picture book about staying healthy during COVID-19 as well as mental health support designed for young children (ages 5-9), in conversation with Mack McLellan.

August 11, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Before We Forget with Lyall Harris and Patricia Silva

Lyall Harris and Patricia Silva will discuss Patricia’s 2020 pandemic project Before We Forget, hand-bound journals with writing prompts aimed at remembering this unprecedented time.

August 20, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: In West Mills with De’Shawn Charles Winslow

Join author De’Shawn Charles Winslow as he discusses his novel, In West Mills, with Allison Wright, executive editor of Virginia Quarterly Review.

August 18, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2