Event

Heartwarming Holidays: Romance Writing & Publishing

Romance authors Talia Hibbert (Wrapped Up In You), Sarah Morgenthaler (Mistletoe and Mr. Right), and Priscilla Oliveras (Holiday Home Run) discuss their heartwarming holiday romances, as well as their publishing …

December 17, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

Who Will Write the Story? The Critical Role of Black Citizen Journalists

Journalism scholar Allissa V. Richardson (Bearing Witness While Black: African Americans, Smartphones and the New Protest #Journalism) discusses empowering marginalized communities to tell their own stories, in conversation with UVA …

December 10, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

Intercontinental Affairs: Debut Mysteries with Jasmine Aimaq and Nev March

Mystery authors Jasmine Aimaq (The Opium Prince) and Nev March (Murder in Old Bombay) discuss their debut novels, set in 1970s Afghanistan and 19th century India, with Meredith Cole. In …

December 3, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

Evicted: An Evening with Matthew Desmond

MacArthur “Genius” and Princeton sociologist Matthew Desmond (Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City) discusses his book and his work on housing access and affordability as well as broader, …

December 9, 2020 | 7PM – 8PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Digital Museum of Broken Relationships with Leslie Jamison and Friends

In celebration of the paperback launch of Make it Scream, Make it Burn, join Leslie Jamison for an event built around one of her collected essays, “Museum of Broken Hearts.” …

November 12, 2020 | 12PM – 1PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Fiebre Tropical with Juli Delgado Lopera with Catalina Esguerra

Novelist Juli Delgado Lopera discusses their acclaimed new novel, Fiebre Tropical, with Catalina Esguerra. Lit by the hormonal neon glow of Miami, this heady, multilingual debut novel follows a Colombian …

November 19, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: The Shadow King with Maaza Mengiste and Jill Bialosky

Author Maaza Mengiste discusses her latest novel, The Shadow King, which was shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, with her editor, Jill Bialosky.

November 5, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

VOTE! Gilda Daniels and the #1 Antidote for Voter Suppression

Law professor and former U.S. Department of Justice attorney Gilda Daniels (Uncounted: The Crisis of Voter Suppression in America) discusses her book and her work on voting rights and battling …

October 28, 2020 | 7PM – 7:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: True Heart Intuitive Tarot with Rachel True

Join Rachel True—an actress best known for her role in The Craft and a lifelong occultist—as she discusses her new True Heart Intuitive Tarot…

October 29, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Monument Lab and Creative Speculations Where You Live: Paul Farber in conversation with Justin Reid

Paul Farber (Monument Lab: Creative Speculations for Philadelphia) discusses his work as a co-founder of The Monument Lab, which works with community members to reimagine public spaces through stories of social justice and equity…

October 15, 2020 | 12PM – 1PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: Detecting Women with Hilary Davidson and Rachel Howzell Hall

Join crime novelists Hilary Davidson (Don’t Look Down) and Rachel Howzell Hall (And Now She’s Gone) as they discuss their newest books, their experiences as crime writers, writing strong women …

October 22, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
Event

SHELF LIFE: #OwnVoices Fiction: Yamile Saied Méndez in conversation with NoNieqa Ramos

Yamile Saied Méndez discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter…

October 1, 2020 | 12PM – 12:45PM
  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2